Html Comments

Html Comments

COMMENTS IN PROGRAMMMING

Programmers use comments in their codes in order to make it more readable and understandable. It reduces the number of WTF in a program because you tend to still understand your codes even after a very long time :-). Commenting in programs also makes collaboration easier because collaborators understand the functions of each lines of the code.

HTML COMMENTS

HTML comments are written as <!-- COMMENTS GOES HERE-->

LET'S ADD COMMENTS TO OUR PREVIOUS CODE

<!--This tells the type of file to the browser-->
<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html>

<head>
<title>My first HTML file</title>
</head>

<body>

<!--Using h1 to make a heading-->
<h1> My first HTML file </h1>

<!--Using p to make a paragraph-->
<p> I am writing my first HTML code </p>

<!--Using h2 to make the second heading-->
<h2> About Me </h2>

<!--Here is another paragraph-->
<p> Hey i'm <b>Temitayo Olorunfemi</b>. I am a <em>Programmer</em>. 

<!--Using h3 to make a third heading-->
<h3>My hobby </h3>

<!--Using ol tag to make an ordered list-->
<ol>
<!--Here's the list-->
<li> Coding</li>
<li>Blogging</li>
<li>Caligraphy</li>
</ol>

<!--Using br tag to make a line break-->
<br>

<!--Using h4 tag to make a heading-->
<h4> Here are my favorite subjects</h4>

<!--Making an unordered list with ul tag-->
<ul>
<!--Here is the list-->
<li>French</li>
<li>Mathematics</li>
<li>English</li>
<li>Arabic </li>
</ul>

<!--Creating an horizontal line with hr tag-->
<hr/>

<!--Using the link tag-->
To know more about me, visit <a href="https://temitech.hashnode.dev/">HERE</a>
</body>

</html>
  • Save your changes
  • Open it in a browser
  • You'll still have the output :

my first html file.PNG

Observe - Comments were ignore by the browser.